2023 Region 13 Horn and Walter award recipients

The R. A. Horn Outstanding Achievement Award is presented to one exemplary special education student from each of Ohio’s 16 State Support Team regions. Morgan Kjorvestad was this year’s recipient.

This award was established 25 years ago by the Ohio Department of Education in honor of the late Dr. Raymond A. Horn, Assistant Superintendent of Public Instruction Emeritus. This prestigious award recognizes students’ remarkable performance.

Students with disabilities age 3-22 who are enrolled in a school program are recognized for outstanding achievements in one of the following categories: · Academics · Arts · Athletics · Community Service · Employment · Extracurricular Activities · Self-Management

A student may be nominated for only one category. A teacher or administrator may nominate one student.

Acknowledged as a national leader in the field of special education, Dr. Horn devoted more than 60 years of service to improving the quality of life and learning for students with disabilities. Dr. Horn left behind a legacy and a challenge to ensure that every student with a disability be given the respect and the opportunities to which they are entitled.

The Franklin B. Walter award is given to an educator or team from each of the 16 State Support Teams in Ohio who have made extraordinary contributions to the education of students with disabilities. Ms. Julie Breeze was this year’s recipient.

This award is given in honor of the late Franklin B Walter, Superintendent of Public Instruction from 1977 until 1991, a post held longer than any
other state superintendent in Ohio’s history. With over 50 years of service as a teacher and administrator, Dr. Walter’s leadership is evident in many of Ohio’s quality educational initiatives and programs. Among these is the development of the nation’s first statewide plan for children with disabilities.

Skip to content